Choose your apartment

The results of my bac in my pocket, I receive an email that I am taken in the school that I wanted to do in Brussels. Now is the time to organize my new life.

While I was in the family cocoon, none of these questions had ever really crossed my mind. But the deadline was approaching and we had to face the facts that I was going to have to start taking charge and that would start with the search for my apartment to rent.

What are the criteria for my apartment?

To choose my apartment I had to define if I was rather:

  • The type to set 5 rings in the morning and get up 10 minutes before your class;
  • Shy of having to travel 30 minutes;
  • Wanting to go home between breaks rather than going to the library.

Unconditional on the duvet, I told myself that I had to find a studio to rent near my school.

We had determined a monthly budget for my rental with my parents, so I started actively looking for an apartment.

This is not the whole thing, but with the confinement we all had the answers from our schools at the same time and the real estate agencies tell me that the filling rate at the end of June is already equivalent to that of mid-September. I am obviously not the only one looking for the nugget in which I will live for a period of 3 years. So get to work quickly!

So I started my search for apartments through specialized sites, private listings, real estate agency. I didn’t know where to turn. My parents advise me to take a studio like most students. I have already spent long hours trying to get an idea of ​​the real estate market, with a budget I compared the areas to the condition of the housing.

In short, a few days go by I really had to get started and make appointments for visits. The apartments were not waiting for me very quietly, there are still people jostling.

The day of the visits

There are 5 planned visits we make the express trip we must make the day profitable.

First visit at 9:30 am we arrive there is no time to look around we are right on time. Once in the apartment, I think I was wrong, it does not look anything like what I saw in the photo.

I think I have more to do with a Photoshop expert than a real estate agent, the accommodation is certainly of a suitable size, but in a state of disrepair which means that we do not linger.

The importance of neighborhood amenities

The next meeting is at 10:45 a.m., this time right next to the school, it’s an opportunity to find a bar where I could have my take away coffees every morning before going to class, we are exactly 512 meters according to a map of the entrance to my school. I would learn at the start of the school year that for health reasons the entrance would be on the other side at 1 km.

We start to look for a bar a troquet a grocery store a bakery, call it what you want but a place where we have a breakfast I tell myself that I am near a university that we must not be in the right corner that there must have something nearby. Well no. There is nothing at all. It does not matter we came to find an apartment rental, I am certainly next to the school but the neighborhood does not seem very lively. I take this opportunity to search Google maps for the nearest supermarket; 950 meters is easy but with 3 racing bags.

During the visit of the apartment a shutter is closed because it must be repaired, water damage from the upstairs neighbor has certainly been repaired but the wall is yellow with blisters of paint (I want to clarify that we were on rent at 600 euros excluding charges). Obviously it does not matter, I have to visit a good the street next door. Smaller area same budget, I should have better luck.

The studio is located on the 6th and last floor without elevator, that’s good it muscles the legs and a priori I would not have time to play sports. We are several to make the visit at the same time, I find that strange. We are in an attic studio, it is 24 m2 but with the slope of the walls I have the impression of being in a pocket square and there is only one velux window. When we leave we realize that it is not very well attended, yet it is barely noon. It seems that only the small park next door is to be feared in the evening.

We have a call to inform us that the accommodation (the one with the water damage) is rented and that we can no longer apply for this file. I obviously did not want to rent this apartment, but telling myself that properties in this condition at this price find a buyer quickly starts to stress me I am afraid I will not find accommodation. I am in despair the neighborhood does not please me there is nothing around, and in addition it goes like hot cakes on a Sunday mass.

My mother who accompanies me offers to have lunch somewhere in the city center. There is everything on site, shops, life, the tram and buses. Everything you would expect from a big city.

When to review your apartment choices

While discussing we realize that my decision to rent an apartment was oriented near my school but that I would probably be better in a neighborhood where there is life. Even if it meant putting in a little more money, I could have an extra room.

During lunch we look at the listings of properties for rent for this district, and we cancel the other apartment visits in the university district, to schedule others more in the center.

We come back two days later. The woman from the real estate agency tells us that she has just returned a property but a little more expensive which could correspond to us, we agree to see it. And there is a crush on everyone, it is on the top floor of a beautiful building without a lift, the good news is that it has a room to rest.

It is more expensive than the other apartments we have visited and it will impact my overall student budget, but that’s okay. I’m already planning to study, but also to do a few student evenings.

My mother reminds me that we must take a rental guarantee that covers the owner in the event of unpaid rents but also in the event of damage to the apartment and when we know how student evenings can end, I reassure myself by telling myself that it there is everything on site on foot including places to party.

Choisir son appartement

Les résultats de mon bac en poche, je reçois un mail que je suis prise dans l’école que je voulais faire à Bruxelles. Il est maintenant l’heure d’organiser ma nouvelle vie.

Tout le temps que j’étais dans le cocon familial, aucune de ces questions ne m’avaient jamais vraiment traversé l’esprit. Mais l’échéance se rapprochait et il fallait se rendre à l’évidence j’allais devoir commencer à me prendre en main et ça allait commencer par la recherche de mon appartement à louer.

Quels sont les critères de mon appartement ? 

Pour choisir mon appartement j’ai dû définir si j’étais plutôt :

  • Du genre à mettre 5 sonneries le matin et à vous lever 10 minutes avant votre cours ;
  • Frileux de devoir faire 30 minutes de transport ; 
  • À avoir envie de rentrer chez moi entre les pauses plutôt qu’aller à la bibliothèque. 

Inconditionnelle de la couette je me suis dit que je devais trouver un studio à louer à proximité de mon école.

Nous avions déterminé un budget mensuel pour ma location avec mes parents, je me suis donc mise en recherche active d’appartement.

Ce n’est pas le tout mais avec le confinement nous avons tous eu les réponses de nos écoles en même temps et les agences immobilières me disent que le taux de remplissage à fin juin équivaut déjà à celui de mi-septembre. Je ne suis évidemment pas la seule à chercher la pépite dans laquelle je vais vivre pour une durée de 3 ans. Alors vite au boulot !

J’ai donc commencé mes recherches d’appartements en passant par les sites spécialisés, les annonces de particuliers, d’agence immobilière. Je ne savais plus où donner de la tête. Mes parents me conseillent de prendre un studio comme la majorité des étudiants. J’ai déjà passé de longues heures à essayer de me faire une idée du marché immobilier, avec un budget je comparais les superficies à l’état du logement.

Bref quelques jours passent je devais vraiment me lancer et prendre des rendez vous pour des visites. Les appartements ne m’attendaient pas bien sagement il y a quand même du monde qui se bouscule.

Le jour des visites

Il y a 5 visites de prévues nous faisons le déplacement exprès il faut rentabiliser la journée.

Première visite à 9h30 nous arrivons limite pas le temps de regarder le coin nous sommes pile à l’heure. Une fois dans l’appartement, je pense m’être trompée il ne ressemble en rien à ce que j’ai vu en photo.

Je pense que j’ai plus à faire à un expert Photoshop qu’un agent immobilier, le logement est certes d’une surface convenable, mais dans un état de vétusté qui fait que l’on ne s’attarde pas.

L’importance des commodités de quartier

Le prochain rendez-vous est à 10h45, cette fois juste à côtés de l’école  c’est l’occasion de trouver un bar dans lequel je prendrais peut être mes cafés en take away tous les matins avant d’aller en cours, nous sommes à exactement 512 mètres d’après map de l’entrée de mon école. J’apprendrais à la rentrée que pour des raisons sanitaires l’entrée se ferait de l’autre côté à 1 km.

Nous commençons à chercher un bar un troquet une épicerie une boulangerie appelez comme vous voulez mais un endroit où on prend un petit déjeuner je me dis que je suis près d’une université que nous ne devons pas être dans le bon coin qu’il y a forcément quelque chose pas loin. Et bien non. Il n’y a rien du tout. Ce n’est pas grave nous sommes venus pour trouver une location d’appartement, je suis certes à côté de l’école mais le quartier n’a pas l’air très vivant. J’en profite pour chercher dans Google maps la supérette la plus proche ; 950 mètres ça se fait facile mais avec 3 sacs de course.

Lors de la isite de l’appartement un volet est fermé parce qu’il doit être réparé, un dégât des eaux du voisin du dessus réparé certes mais le mur est jaune avec des cloques de peinture (je tiens à préciser que l’on était sur des loyer à 600 euros hors charges). Visiblement ce n’est pas grave, je dois visiter un bien la rue d’à côté. Plus petite surface même budget, je devrais avoir plus de chance.

Le studio se trouve au 6ème et dernier étage sans ascenseur, ça tombe bien ça muscle les jambes et à priori je n’aurais pas le temps de faire du sport. Nous sommes plusieurs à faire la visite en même temps, je trouve cela étrange. Nous sommes sur un studio mansardé, il fait 24 m2 mais avec la pente des murs j’ai l’impression d’être dans un mouchoir de poche et il n’y a qu’une fenêtre velux. En sortant on se rend compte que ce n’est pas très bien fréquenté, pourtant il est à peine midi. Il paraît que seul le petit parc à côté est à craindre le soir.

Nous avons un appel pour nous informer que le logement (celui avec le dégât des eaux) est loué et que nous ne pouvons plus postuler pour ce dossier. Je ne voulais évidemment pas louer cet appartement, mais me dire que des biens dans cet état à ce prix trouvent preneur rapidement commence à me stresser j’ai bien peur de ne pas trouver de logement. Je désespère le quartier ne me plait pas il n’y a rien autour, et en plus ça part comme des petits pains un dimanche de messe. 

Ma mère qui m’accompagne me propose de déjeuner quelque part au centre-ville. Il y a tout sur place, des commerces, de la vie, le tramway et des bus. Tout ce que l’on attend d’une grande ville.

Quand il faut revoir ses choix d’appartement

En discutant on se rend compte que ma décision de louer un appartement s’était orientée près de mon école mais que je serais probablement mieux dans un quartier ou il y a de la vie. Quitte à mettre un peu plus d’argent, je pouvais avoir une chambre en plus.

Lors du déjeuner on regarde les annonces de biens à louer pour ce quartier, et nous annulons les autres visites d’appartement dans le quartier universitaires, pour en programmer d’autres plus au centre.

Nous revenons deux jours plus tard. La femme de l’agence immobilière nous dit qu’elle vient de rentrer un bien mais un peu plus cher qui pourrait nous correspondre, nous acceptons de le voir. Et là coup de cœur pour tout le monde, il est au dernier étage d’un bel immeuble sans ascenseur, la bonne nouvelle c’est qu’il dispose d’une chambre pour se reposer.

Il est plus cher que les autres appartements que nous avons visité et il va impacter mon budget global d’étudiante mais ce n’est pas grave. Je m’y projette déjà pour étudier, mais aussi pour faire quelques soirées étudiantes.

Ma mère me rappelle que nous devons prendre une garantie locative qui couvre le propriétaire en cas de loyers impayés mais aussi en cas de dommages dans l’appartement et quand on sait comment peuvent se terminer les soirées étudiantes je me rassure en me disant qu’il y a tout sur place à pied y compris des endroits pour faire la fête.